Find out more about the research done by Glasgow Museums regarding the interiors of the Ingram Street Tearooms for future public display by following this link
Miss Cranston’s Tearooms on Ingram Street in Glasgow City Centre contained a unique set of interiors. They were designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh between 1900 and 1912.
They are now the only original set of Mackintosh tearoom interiors to survive. The tearooms were in use as catering facilities between 1886 and 1950, first by Miss Cranston, and later – from 1930 – by Cooper’s & Co.
Little photographic evidence of the tearooms over these years is known to exist. From the 1950s the rooms were owned by Glasgow City Council. They became used for storage and as a souvenir shop, and were finally removed in 1971.
Don’t forget to…